Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

s.pab

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 4, 2021
I have very little knowledge with the macs and their specs. I'm a musician and use garageband to record my projects. I upgraded from a 2015 macbook pro to the M1 when I received one as a gift for my birthday. But my problem is that my audio interfaces aren't USB-C. I have a USB-C hub but for some reason it doesn't provide power to my audio interface when connected to the M1 macbook pro. BUT when I connect the USB-C hub to a windows computer, it outputs power to my interface.
At first I thought it was the hub, but since I tested it on my other computers, it seems to be the macbook.
Do the M1 macs not output power to their USB-C Ports?
I've had this new mac for almost 3 weeks now and have never used it yet because I cannot use any of my instruments with it. Unfortunately.

any help will be appreciated!

ToomeyND

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2011
Does your hub have a usb-c port? It may be that the intent is to plug your power into the usb-c port on the hub, plug in the dongle to the computer, and the power going into the hub will power the laptop and accessories. I'm spitballing, have no direct affiliation with the M1. But I have shopped hubs in the past.

s.pab

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 4, 2021
Does your hub have a usb-c port? It may be that the intent is to plug your power into the usb-c port on the hub, plug in the dongle to the computer, and the power going into the hub will power the laptop and accessories. I'm spitballing, have no direct affiliation with the M1. But I have shopped hubs in the past.
No, It doesn't have a USB-C port to power it. But it does fine supplying power from my windows laptop but not the M1 for some reason.

lemonkid

macrumors regular
Dec 23, 2015