Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dgian

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 10, 2022
hello to the community ! I am new to apple MacBooks (even though I ve been working as an I.T. for 11 years now).

my quick question which must be easy for you guys is this:

Used space on my new M1 MacBook Air is constantly growing is size !

(please have a look at screenshots)

I have iCloud off and automatic updates switched off as well.

but still I can't figure out what keeps taking on size on the disk and the occupied space keeps growing constantly.

it is currently 29.3gb (on the 3rd day of use)

I do understand that apps take 2gb approximately, macOS is 15,76gb and system data 10,9gb.

why is disk space constantly being reduced without any new items taking up that space and how can I prevent it from growing up ?

thanks for your time !

Attachments

• f9595987-06d5-4892-a450-2f657eb8b0c3.png
    f9595987-06d5-4892-a450-2f657eb8b0c3.png
    246.6 KB · Views: 218
  • 286a7999-f3e9-4111-b15c-decbc60e4e4b.png
    286a7999-f3e9-4111-b15c-decbc60e4e4b.png
    314 KB · Views: 138

joevt

Contributor
Jun 21, 2012
System logs and Spotlight indexes?

How fast is it growing? Is some of it returned when you restart (may be some temporary stuff)?

I don't think you should worry about it until it gets near full.

dgian

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 10, 2022
System logs and Spotlight indexes?

How fast is it growing? Is some of it returned when you restart (may be some temporary stuff)?

I don't think you should worry about it until it gets near full.
thanks for replying really appreciate it !
possibly system logs. I assume about 300-400mb per day. haven't restarted it coz I ve read about MacBooks that there is some minor stress on its components for every restart so I have it on sleep the last 4 days I own it. I suppose its temporary stuff as you say.

where should I look to clean them up ?

• Haha