Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Andeddu

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Dec 21, 2016
So I have been championing such behaviour as keeping your phone for 5+ years as updates are incremental now and all that really needs replaced is the battery every 2-2.5 years. I was always of the belief that a SIM only contract was the way to go as it removed you from the never ending upgrade treadmill. I just wanted to have a phone, be happy with it and keep it until it was no longer supported by Apple.

I was wrong. I pay around £22 ($27) per month for my SIM only contract consisting of unlimited data, calls and texts. That’s £528 ($644) per 24 months.

Turns out I can get a nice 128gb 13 with the same contract and carrier for £864 ($1054) over 24 months which is £36 ($44) per month.

I can also get a 64gb SE3 with the same contract and carrier for £624 ($761) over 24 months which is £26 ($32) per month.

My current phone is a 12 Mini which requires a battery replacement that will cost £69 ($84). The phone itself can be sold on the second hand market for around £200 ($244). That’s £269 minus the cost of a new phone.

The overall cost of a brand new 13 would therefore set me back £67 ($81) and an SE3 would net me £173 ($211) profit.

I don’t know which deal to go for as I like both phones.

I am just surprised (and disappointed!) that our consumer based society has made it unviable to hold onto technology for longer than 2 years.

Oh well, I am probably going to order one of those phones tomorrow and sell/trade in my trusty 12 Mini.

Fat_Guy

macrumors 65816
Feb 10, 2021
Get a 14 Pro Max and be done with it for at least two years. You still get a physical sim and probably not next September.