Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nubneck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2001
Well, I'm a long-time windows/unix user who is has convinced himself to buy a mac. I'm actually a hardware engineer, and most of my computer time these days is spent under UNIX. I've played with OSX, and I like the idea that I can run some UNIX programs under that system! I've also read all of the technical specs for the iBook, and I feel fairly convinced that Apple makes a great product.

So, (as I'm reaching for my credit card), I'd like to hear some first-hand opinions of the new iBook. How well does OSX run on it? Are applications like Photoshop (which I only use casualy) fairly quick with the 600Mhz model? How about that 8Mb graphics card and the G3 processor? Do most of you find it sufficient for most popular games? If not, can it be upgraded in any way?

And (perhaps the reason I'm asking macRUMORS), what about the near-term future? Does anyone suspect that in the near future, Apple will put out a FAR superior iBook? Perhaps one with a G4, or a 16Mb graphics card? Is now a relatively good time to buy?

Aside from my specific questions, I hope you'll share your opinions on anything else related to the iBook. I'm just looking to get a sense of weather people are generally happy with the product or if there are some major problems that would make me reconsider.

I hope you'll tell me what you think!

Thanks.

akuma

macrumors regular
Sep 5, 2001
I can't much speak for the ibook side.

But I have a 2 year old Blue and White G3 running at 400 mhz, and I have never had a problem at all with it. It has always been speedy and *seems* to be faster than the 900 mhz athlon I have running at work (using the same programs...bryce 5, photoshop, etc) The G3 is a very stable processor and I think most people will agree.