Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VTRichard

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 23, 2006
Greetings, this is my first post to this group. In case this group is not the correct one for this problem, I have posted this msg on another forum as well. I'm a novice when it comes to computers so keep that in mind. My main reason for joining this list is to present a problem that I have regarding iChat AV in hopes that someone here can help me solve a mystery. Bear with me and I will give you the story.

Several months ago I purchased a new Mac Mini with super drive, the main
purpose being to be able to web cam with my five children and grandchildren.
So far, I have only been able to use it with one daughter in the N.Y. area
and it worked incredibly well. It was a super bonding tool since I recently
retired and live in Vermont which is long distances from all of my kids. Due
to retirement I'm not able to take trips to visit very often so I thought
web caming would be the next best thing and it was until my daughter moved
away from the N.Y. area to Denver, CO. Since then I have not been able to
get the web cam to work. I have been able to instant message ok but not
video chat. She is not able to video with me either. I have called my ISP
and Apple for help but they were not able to offer anything that would work.
I have downloaded my Mac OS (Tiger) with the latest 10.4.4 up date and
opened ports but still it won't work.

My daughter has a Mac and she is able to video chat with a brother in
Richmond, VA. I have tried to video with him and it won't work.

I have DSL service and my server recently installed a high speed modem
(24G). In Denver, the service is either DSL or digital cable. Any help that
will solve this dilemma with be gratefully accepted.
Richard in Vermont

Gee

macrumors 65816
Feb 27, 2004
London, UK
Hi there

There's hopefully plenty of people on MacRumors with some ideas for you.