Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacGod

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 2, 2008
I have an iCloud+ subscription of 200 GB for my apple products. Have for years. About a year ago, I purchased the Apple One family plan which includes an additional 200 GB of storage - but I don't share that out. So I essentially had 400 GB of iCloud storage - worked out great for me and the family didn't need the extra storage.

Last week, my Apple One plan went from $22.95 to $25.95 - got the notice and all - not a big deal. Somewhere in the 'UPGRADE" to the new pricing plan, my account got knocked down to only having 200 GB of storage. I only got notice today from Apple that I should upgrade to the $10/month 2 TB storage plan. Sure enough - I was out of storage for all my devices - and it was listed as 200 GB - did Apple One remove storage? Did my personal iCloud+ subscription get killed? what was the deal?

Turns out, my personal iCloud+ subscription got cancelled. Why, would Apple touch my in place items if all they were doing was increasing the price of their plans? I don't think we got anymore benefit out of it (more storage, more access to other systems - like News would be awesome - not paying $10/month for that).

CAUTION - check out your subscriptions if you are an Apple One subscriber - they [APPLE] may have messed with your personal iCloud+ subscrition.

MacGod

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 2, 2008

azentropy

macrumors 601
Jul 19, 2002
Surprise
Only resolution was re-subscribing to the iCloud+ account subscription that was missing. I read the other thread - thanks for including - very odd Apple would do this... somebody fat-fingered something.

Were you able to on Apple One Family add an additional 200GB or did it only give you the option for adding 2TB? I've seen mixed answers on this.