Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

circatee

Contributor
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
I am new to the Mac OS, with a Mac Mini. With that, I have decided to use iCloud, too. Even more so, since I have it setup and configured on my iPhone and iPad.

My question is, from a Mac OS perspective, any issue I should be aware of, or understand?
I configured iCloud today on my Mac Mini and the only option I have not selected yet is, "Desktop & Documents Folders". A little unsure about this one.

Thoughts...

PS: Not 100% sure if this is the correct area to post this. Thus, MODs, feel free to move it if needed.

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
If you have enough free iCloud storage for it, I'd just enable everything. Desktop and Documents in iCloud is especially nice if you move between different Macs a lot, like a desktop and a laptop. But it can eat at your iCloud storage if you keep a lot of things on the desktop or in the document folder

Reactions: chabig and circatee

Cancelled
Apr 16, 2020
My preference is avoid using Desktop & Documents Folders. In the past when I’ve had it enabled, because your documents are no longer stored on your Mac, I made some mistakes and deleted important stuff. I find it easier to upload only documents I absolutely need to share with other devices (or other people), and keep the rest on my Mac.

For a good explanation about how Desktop & Document Folders work, take a look at this:

Reactions: circatee

Cancelled
Apr 16, 2020
And the other thing is if D&D is enabled, I don’t believe those documents are included in Time Machine backups. But I could be wrong about whether local copies get backed up.

circatee

Contributor
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
And the other thing is if D&D is enabled, I don’t believe those documents are included in Time Machine backups. But I could be wrong about whether local copies get backed up.