Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

idkew

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Hey all,

I have a little photo site that I have designed at benjaminnau.com and of coarse, IE is ignoring patts of my CSS. (Window's IE) Didn't find an explanation in other threads, nor in O'Reilly's books.

I tell the borwser to color links white always, unless it is a:hover (which i want grey). IE does follow this for text links, but for the 8pt border around all my photos (which are all links), it ignores this color and uses the default blue and purple colors. Needless to say, it is annoying. Works fine in Safari.

I am new to CSS, so please take a look at mine below and tell me what I (or IE) is doing wrong.
h1 { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: 28; color: #ffffff;text-align:center; }
h2 { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: 18; color: #ffffff;text-align:center; }
h3 { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: 8; color: #ffffff;text-align:center; }
td { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: 14; color: #ffffff; }
a:link { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: -4; color: #ffffff; text-decoration: none;}
a:active { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: -4; color: #977578; text-decoration: none;}
a:visited { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: -4; color: #ffffff; text-decoration: none;}
a:hover { font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: -4; color: #6E6F71; text-decoration: none;}
body { background-color: #041938; font-family: Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: 12; color: #ffffff; text-align:center;}

Thanks,
Ben

also- any suggestions on the site are welcomed.

mnkeybsness

macrumors 68030
Jun 25, 2001
Moneyapolis, Minnesota
That's really interesting. I just checked my site and Internet Explorer for XP treats it the same way, giving images the default color borders.

I hadn't seen this before you pointed it out.