Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Lord Blackadder

macrumors P6
Original poster
May 7, 2004
Sod off
Self-taught (read: inferor) Illustrator user here with a dilemma.

I have a large grayscale vector drawing (a map, to be precise), from which I want to produce a detail section. The goal is to take a smaller rectangular portion of the map, crop it out of the larger drawing and blow it up, adding details.

The 'crop' is where I am having issues. Making a clipping mask won't work because I don't want to lose the 20+ layers I've created yet. I tried making an identical-sized clipping mask for each layer, but that doesn't quite work either; I want to get rid of all the data outside the clipping mask - not mask it.

Any hints or tips? Is there a way I can draw a shape and delete all data outside the shape? Thanks in advance folks!

Last edited:

CortexRock

macrumors 6502
Dec 3, 2006
Canterbury, England
This might not work, but could be worth a go... (I don't have a 20 layer Illustrator file handy to test it on)

Try creating a new art board instead of a clipping mask around the bit you want to zoom in on, then export that art board as a separate file.

You should then be able to open the exported chunk, work on it as necessary, and even import it back in to the main drawing to create the illusion of a zoomed in section.

Let me know if this helps! :confused:

Lord Blackadder

macrumors P6
Original poster
May 7, 2004
Sod off
Have you tried looking at the pathfinder tools?

I haven't, and don't know anything about them. Time to do some research... :eek:

This might not work, but could be worth a go... (I don't have a 20 layer Illustrator file handy to test it on)

Try creating a new art board instead of a clipping mask around the bit you want to zoom in on, then export that art board as a separate file.