Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

2wenty2wo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 31, 2020
Sydney, Australia
Hi Everyone,

First post here. I read the iMac 2011 GPU Upgrade thread and I decided not to reply to that thread as my situation is not a normal case. I'm not sure if anyone can help me here, but after reading that thread I know there are some very educated people on this forum.

Backstory:
I was given a free iMac 21.5" (Mid-2010) from a friend, he picked it up from someone throwing it out and I have zero knowledge of this iMacs history before I received it. Most people would just scrap this for parts but since I'm currently typing this post on a MacBook Pro 15" (Mid-2009) in 2020, I thought what could I do with this thing.

What I've Done:
  1. Turned it on, it had no start up chime, it beeped very loudly and the screen remained black.
  2. I checked the RAM slot and it was empty. I installed some RAM I had removed from an old Mac mini.
  3. Turned it on, I get start up chime, no beep anymore but the screen remained black.
  4. I opened the iMac up and removed the LCD, I noticed a screw was missing, this has been opened before. 61245514020__CC8028EF-5DF3-4F17-804C-44AAE70193DB.jpg
  5. First thing I noticed was the LCD wasn't connected at all. I also noticed the backlight connector and the v-sync connector were damaged (but pins were still good and is fixable).
    IMG_2214.jpg
  6. After removing the LCD, the second thing I noticed was the hard drive was missing (including the bracket), so I now assume the iMac stopped working, they opened it up, removed the hard drive, kept the RAM and tossed everything else.
  7. I mounted a spare SSD using metal brackets I had, this works.
    61250368416__E70733C9-915C-430A-860B-10107B6C35A2.JPG