Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jtvdw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 9, 2019
Hi,

I have a 27" iMac and the graphics card started giving me issues, I'm not a Mac expert and I've tried this and this and this and this but no luck. Also, I haven't tried baking the the physical card, I'm not pro doing it, might mess it up even more. What I'm I missing or doing wrong, any help or assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Cruz3LT

macrumors regular
Jun 24, 2019
Seattle, Washington
Baking the card is rather easy and I have been successful with it. Just be sure that you purchase everything that you need beforehand if you go that route. If you have any questions, you can either reply here or message me.

jtvdw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 9, 2019
Hi,

Thanks for the update and info, much appreciated.

Before I go that route, do you perhaps know if there is 1 final fix I can maybe try before baking the card, if you perhaps know.

Was the banking your last option or just tried it and it worked, pm me the details if you can, will be much appreciated.

Thanks again.

jtvdw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 9, 2019
Hi,

So it boots fine till after the apple logo, then the screen goes blank and restarts the whole time.

Thanks.

Cruz3LT

macrumors regular
Jun 24, 2019
Seattle, Washington
Hi,

So it boots fine till after the apple logo, then the screen goes blank and restarts the whole time.

Thanks.
so you are going into a boot loop. I do not believe that there is anything else you can do besides replace the GPU or bake it. This was the same problem that I had with mine. I just bit the bullet and baked it. Baking it isn't guaranteed to work, but it is a cheaper option. Have you opened this machine up before?

jtvdw

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 9, 2019
Hi,

Exactly the boot loop. Okay, what must I do to bake the GPU, yes I’ve opened it a couple of times before.