Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

alex.ranee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 13, 2018
My Macbook Pro 2011 took a crap on me so I am looking into buying an iMac 2017. I am looking between a few different configurations. I am a photographer but I also do wedding videos or 5 minute short films every now and then so I want a set up that can handle photo editing, light video editing and also illustration and some gaming (Sims, FFXIV)

21.5 inch 3.4GHz i5 (or 3.6ghz i7 + $180)
32GB RAM
512 SSD
Radeon pro 560 4GB VRAM

27 inch 3.4GHz i5
32GB RAM
512GB SSD
Radeon Pro 570 4GB VRAM

27 inch 3.8GHz i5
32GB RAM
512 SSD
Radeon Pro 580 8GB VRAM

I want to keep it as cheap as possible without sacrificing much, so the 21.5 looks good but I am unsure is 3.4GHz processor and 4GB VRAM is enough for what I want to do with it.

Also, is 32GB RAM overload? Or should I downgrade to 16GB to save money.

Juicy Box

macrumors 604
Sep 23, 2014
For general guidelines to questions like these, I list the following by priority:

#1 Priority - GPU, since this this usually the weak link for Mac longevity, I recommend getting the best one that you can for most Macs. GPUs on most Macs cannot be swapped easily. External GPUs might change this, but right now, I still think it is best to prioritize this.

#2 Priority - Hard Drive, while usually easier to replace than the GPU, I still think just spending the extra amount and getting a SSD would be ideal. If you need the extra space, but don't want external storage, then get a 2TB Fusion Drive or larger. The 1TB Fusion was nerfed a few years ago, and now has a tiny 32GB SSD with it. The original 1TB Fusion Drive, and the current 2TB, and 3TB Fusion Drives have 128GB SSD with them.