Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Should I get an iMac for college?

• yes, get the iMac

Votes: 1 7.1%
  • no, your MacBook Pro is fine

Votes: 13 92.9%

• Total voters

frosty18

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 10, 2018
Pennsylvania, United States
I currently have a 13" MacBook Pro (2017) and I'm a freshman in college right now. I'm thinking about purchasing an iMac 4k with an SSD for next fall. I will have a suite so I'll have my own room. Would an iMac be helpful for college? if anyone uses an iMac for college along with a MacBook to take to class what are your thoughts? I will definitely wait for a 2019 version by the way.

PlayUltimate

macrumors 6502a
Jul 29, 2016
Boulder, CO
don't bother with an iMac if you already have a MacBook Pro. Just buy external monitors, and a keyboard/mouse. Your computer can currently:
"Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display at millions of colors and:
One display with 5120-by-2880 resolution at 60Hz at over a billion colors
Up to two displays with 4096-by-2304 resolution at 60Hz at millions of colors
Up to two displays with 3840-by-2160 resolution at 60Hz at over a billion colors"

IMO, best of both worlds.

padams35

macrumors 6502
Nov 10, 2016
Maybe... if you have computationally intensive classes and don't have easy access to a campus computer lab. So most likely 'no, your MacbookPro is fine'.

What do you imagine the iMac will do that the MBP does not?

RootBeerMan

macrumors 65816
Jan 3, 2016
I'm with everyone else. An iMac is nice, (I'm typing this on mine) but what will it do that your Macbook won't? I'd save the money. Get a TV and a game console!

nitropowered

macrumors regular
Aug 25, 2003
Ohio
Stick with your MBP and get an external monitor.