Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bobesch

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Oct 21, 2015
Kiel, Germany
Hi there. Need some help about MacOS9.
I've installed a 120GB SSD with SATA2IDE adapter into one of my 400MHz iMacG3 DV.
Via TargetDiskMode (from a G4/Tiger-PPC) I've created 3 partitions: 1) 10GB (for os9) 2) 40GB (for Tiger), 3) Rest (for data). Drivers for OS9 included during partitioning the drive.
Installation of Tiger and os9 worked fine.
Booting into Tiger works fine.
Trying to boot into os9 fails, showing a FloppyDisk-Icon with a "?"
Booting with a os9 optical medium does work - choosing then the os9 partition enables booting.
Strange.
Any ideas?
After all I'm still a green os9 novice ...

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
Hi there. Need some help about MacOS9.
I've installed a 120GB SSD with SATA2IDE adapter into one of my 400MHz iMacG3 DV.
Via TargetDiskMode (from a G4/Tiger-PPC) I've created 3 partitions: 1) 10GB (for os9) 2) 40GB (for Tiger), 3) Rest (for data). Drivers for OS9 included during partitioning the drive.
Installation of Tiger and os9 worked fine.
Booting into Tiger works fine.
Trying to boot into os9 fails, showing a FloppyDisk-Icon with a "?"
Booting with a os9 optical medium does work - choosing then the os9 partition enables booting.
Strange.
Any ideas?
After all I'm still a green os9 novice ...
Set the startup disk before you reboot?

G4fanboy

macrumors 6502
Mar 9, 2013
Andalucia Spain
Check if the adapter have Master/Slave/Cable select options.

With my PowerBook 17" and the adapter I had troubles until I find the right option.

z970mp, Mac OS 9 loves SSDs

Reactions: AphoticD

bobesch

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Oct 21, 2015
Kiel, Germany
Maybe OS 9 wasn't designed for SSDs.

Maybe it doesn't like the SATA-IDE-adapter ... that thing drives me crazy!