Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

msev

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 30, 2005
I've been putting off buying a new imac for a few months, so a few more weeks wont matter much. I get the education discount, so 20", with "free" ipod mini for $1700 is a pretty good deal. Will something happen at the Paris expo that will significantly effect my decision? Apple has already upgraded and added value by including 512 memory, 2 GHz, 250 gb HD, and dual layer superdrive. What else could they do to enhance the value? Or should I buy before the offer ends on September 24th? Will they ever include or reduce the price of the iSight? I would sell the ipod to buy an iSight. Thanks

paperinacup

macrumors 6502
Mar 30, 2005
Somehow I don't see the iMac getting updated soon. And if they did update it the only thing I could see them doing is updating the graphics card.

DeSnousa

macrumors 68000
Jan 20, 2005
Brisbane, Australia
Want more better value, you forgot that airport and bluetooth are standard ;) I doubt it will get updated until mid next year. I think a great way of telling is by the Powermac. If the speeds of the iMac are pretty high compared to the Powermac, no update. In which they are at the moment.

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
Artful Dodger said:
Buy it, I just bought my iMac and I'm glad I didn't wait plus I got the iPod as well so what a deal :D
congrats! Is this a replacement for your poor iBook? If I recall correctly, you had wanted an iMac G5 all along, right?

Artful Dodger

macrumors 68020
devilot76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artful Dodger
Buy it, I just bought my iMac and I'm glad I didn't wait plus I got the iPod as well so what a deal

congrats! Is this a replacement for your poor iBook? If I recall correctly, you had wanted an iMac G5 all along, right?