Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lostgonzoband

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 27, 2023
I have an older 27” 2010 IMac w 1tb drive. It appears the HD is toast. This older machine is also now unsupported by Apple for software updates. Other than these two things the machine and its monitor were great.
I came across the below paragraph in a forum somewhere where it looks like you can give life back to an older IMac with a legacy patcher?
I am not technical so I would like someone to decipher this for me and tell me in general terms what would be involved in doing this and upgrading to a new SSD drive.

“iMac legacy patcher
Yeah Apple does this unfortunately. Sometimes they even ‘disallow’ certain older intel models from booting the operating system at all. Making you believe the features of the new OS will put a strain on the older Mac so as to not be a good experience. I say ‘disallow’ in quotes because while by default an unsupported mac model is prevented from booting the newer OS, Apple does allow the use of a boot flag to disable the kernel compatibility check and may possibly allow the OS to boot on the older hardware.
However, this is rubbish. Forced obsolescence in my opinion. With open core legacy patcher, my 9-year old MacBook Pro that got cut off by Apple after Catalina can totally run Big Sur and now Monterey. It lives on! And that Mac was upgradable. So with an SSD and 16 GB of ddr3 ram, it still runs very well despite its age.
Apple is full of it, when it comes to cutting off support of perfectly capable machines. With Apple silicon I don’t know how long they’ll support their m1 macs. But once they start cutting off support for the m1, I don’t know if there will be a way around it like on the intel side, other than needing to upgrade of course. Which in the end creates more e-waste. And incentivizes you to spend more money”

Thanks!

MBAir2010

macrumors 603