Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ludo_B

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2020
Belgium
Hi, I’m completely new to Mac and have an iMac PowerPC G3 that I have some questions about:
  1. Am I supposed to update/upgrade, or is that ill-advised? Currently I see it is: Mac OS X version 10.4.8, Processor 400 MHz, Memory 384 MB SDRAM, Kernel Darwin 8.8.0
  2. Via Airport I tried to connect to wifi, but although it did see my wifi, typing the password did not connect. I haven’t tried via cable yet, because I’m not sure which entrance to use – the one with the telephone symbol or with the “<>” symbol?
  3. When the above is sorted, here’s what I plan to use this machine for: add a new .dmg-keyboard from https://www.sanskritpro.com/download/

axboi87

macrumors regular
Aug 31, 2006
Dallas, Tx
That's likely the latest OS version that machine will support. Also on the WiFi, it's unlikely a newer router will support that WiFi card or vice versa, so if you can even use that machine for anything, it will (probably) need to be connected via Ethernet. Can't speak to the compatibility of that program with such an older version of Mac OS (looked on their site and can't find system requirements).

Reactions: Ludo_B

brianmowrey

macrumors 6502
Oct 5, 2020
<> is ethernet.

And if you post over in the PowerPC forum, someone can probably tell you the security settings to put on your wifi to make it compatible with your machine. I'm pretty sure it's WPA. Modern routers want to use WPA2, but you can switch them back to WPA. It's less secure but fine if you're not worried about hacker neighbors.

Any font and keyboard packages should work fine but the PowerPC forum will have a better answer.

Project Alice

macrumors 68020
Jul 13, 2008
Post Falls, ID
Hi, I’m completely new to Mac and have an iMac PowerPC G3 that I have some questions about: