Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DreWellet

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2018
Hi,

I'm a freelance video editor and I'm currently working on a production that uses FCP 7 (Yes... you read that right). I have FCP 7 on my early 2008 Mac Pro, but I bought a new iMac Pro earlier this year and would like to use it for this job. We all know that FCP 7 is now obsolete with High Sierra. But is there a way to create a partition, or a boot drive, and use El Capitan or Sierra on my iMac Pro?

I've tried many different ways, but none of them work. Can anyone confirm if it can be done? Or am I losing my time?

mreg376

macrumors 65816
Mar 23, 2008
Brooklyn, NY
Have you tried virtualization software like Parallels or VM Fusion? There's also a free version called Virtual Box.

Last edited:

mj_

macrumors 68000
May 18, 2017
Austin, TX
It can't be done. Traditionally, the oldest system you can run on a Mac is the system it initially shipped with. There are some notable exceptions to this rule but they are few and far between. For the iMac Pro, this means that it requires at least 10.13 High Sierra and won't boot with anything older than that. Most importantly it's secure boot chip (I think it was called the T2 chip) required a special version of High Sierra in the beginning. Thus, it can't even be hacked into submission.

The most recent iMac that will still run El Capitan is the Mid-2015 iMac. Even the Late-2015 requires Sierra already.

The only thing you can really do is Virtualization, as @mreg376 has already suggested.

Soko

macrumors newbie
Mar 25, 2016