Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nightenticer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2014
Hi all,
I'm an iOS developer and I had a question about iMessage. Often times I test out prerelease builds of iOS application on newer versions of iOS, and I'm forced to go through the process of wiping and restoring from a backup. However, my backups can be glitchy and recently (due to a backup bigger than my new device), I'm unable to restore the backup to my device. However, that backup has thousands of iMessages that I wish to keep, preferably on the device itself.

So, I'm wondering - is there any simple solution that anybody has found/tried that allows some sort of autonomous syncing of imessages (either as they're received or on a scheduled basis), that either goes to a server or cloud account or something? I'm sick and tired of iMessage's lack of a server-side storage component for past messages (like something akin to Facebook's Messenger would do). I'd like to ensure that I don't lose messages to outdated backups and find someway to access them on the device, even if I have to go to another application to look at old messages.

In the past I've seen computer programs that allow you to extract from a previous backup and attempt to restore them to the device, but I'm looking to find something that's much more user friendly and mobile-oriented - I'd like the experience of saving old messages and accessing them from a different device to be as seamless as possible, aside from the fact that a 3rd party application would be involved.

Any ideas?

gsmornot

macrumors 68040
Sep 29, 2014
I don't have a specific product to recommend but if you have a backup there are tools for extracting the data. Some are free. Look at Google for "extract imessages from iphone backup"

nightenticer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 23, 2014