Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BLDun

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 22, 2005
I have an old VHS tape that I imported into imovies. When I try to send to iDVD to burn it keeps giving me problems. Sometimes I get a warning that the preferences are matched up somehow and sometimes it tells me that it exceeds the allowable limit of size, and sometimes the ball spins for quite a while and when it's done I have an icon on the desktop but when I try to open it it asks if I want to open an existing project and when I click yes it take me to that one and when I click it . . . . well you get the picture, we just go in circles. As you can tell I am new to this whole imovie and idvd project so can someon walk me through the process? I have a G5 dual 1.8 gHz and am running imovie 5. Thanks for any help.

kiwi-in-uk

macrumors 6502a
Sep 22, 2004
AU
Instead of sending it directly to iDVD, try saving it as a Quicktime movie (e.g. to the desktop) then start a new iDVD project and drag the movie from the desktop to the project.

BLDun

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 22, 2005
I did that but now I get a message saying it is too large to fit a dvd. Do I need to compress it and if so how do I do that? I want to be able to play this on a regular dvd player

yankeefan24

macrumors 65816
Dec 24, 2005
NYC
BLDun said:
I did that but now I get a message saying it is too large to fit a dvd. Do I need to compress it and if so how do I do that? I want to be able to play this on a regular dvd player

you do need to compress it. it can take a long time.

rjphoto

macrumors 6502a
Mar 7, 2005
kiwi-in-uk said:
Try using the "best quality" setting in iDVD preferences

I always get confused with the "best quality" vs. "best performance" settings.

Doesn't one let you have more video on the DVD? Which one?

What are the time limits (length of video) in iDVD now ("best quality" vs. "best performance")?