Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Grobaouche

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2022
Hello everyone 🤗

I have a stupid question, first time I am using iMovie since a while.
I wanted to import a music from my Music App on macOS, and I have an Apple Music subscription.

It seems it is impossible to add any of my Apple Music library songs within my iMovie project, I tried both from Lossless and AAC formats.
Looking quickly online it seems to be related to DRMs in the file, is that the case ?

If this is right it is quite a non-sense, how am I supposed to do ? I saw some articles saying I should download a third party tool to convert the files and remove the DRMs, but it seems unthinkable to have to do this when I have every file on my computer within the Apple apps and environment.

What is your experience/recommandation ?

Thanks a lot !

Using macOS Ventura 13.1

lin2log

macrumors member
Mar 21, 2011
It's pretty simple and I would think it completely obvious that you can't just use any ol' commercial song in your work without licensing it. An Apple Music subscription is anything BUT any sort of license. Or can you add music from your SPOTIFY library? Oh right… of course not. For the exact same reasons. Try reading the EULA.
And good luck "removing the DRM" cuz that ain't gonna happen. 🙄

Grobaouche

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2022
It's pretty simple and I would think it completely obvious that you can't just use any ol' commercial song in your work without licensing it. An Apple Music subscription is anything BUT any sort of license. Or can you add music from your SPOTIFY library? Oh right… of course not. For the exact same reasons. Try reading the EULA.
And good luck "removing the DRM" cuz that ain't gonna happen. 🙄

I guess saying the same without bold letters and this condescending tone would have delivered the same info 😜

Dave Braine

macrumors 68040
Mar 19, 2008