Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JeffEmbracedDC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 14, 2006
Hey, guys. This is my first post here. I'm fairly new to macs. I just got my 17" mbp a few months back and have always planned on installing some more ram. I have the standard 1x1GB stick now, and I want to move to 2x1GB. What is the importance of having matched memory? Should I really sell my current gig stick and buy two matched sticks, or would it be close enough for me to buy just one stick of something? Maybe it would be okay to just buy one stick if I go with the same brand as what standard (is it samsung?)

If I really do need to get matched pairs, according to afew threads I've read on here I should either get it from either OWC/Macsales.com or DMS/datamem.com? I noticed they offer different ... I guess different "grades" of ram. How much of a difference does this make? If one is $10 more than another and it's a substantial difference obviously I'd rather have the higher grade.. but if it's at all throwing my money away to spend $10 more per stick let me know.

If it would maybe be fine for me to just get another stick of what's already in my MBP, where would be a good place for that?

Thanks guys. I really appreciate it.

-Jeff

dclocke

macrumors member
Sep 14, 2006
Saint Louis, MO
Well, I could be wrong, but when I use the term "matched memory" I generally mean the same size. So, for example, you wouldn't want 1.5 GB of memory by using a 1 GB stick and a 512 MB stick. If different brands of memory make a difference it's news to me. As long as they are both PC5300, 667MHz the brand shouldn't make a difference. But if I'm wrong somebody please tell me...

shawsinio

macrumors regular
May 29, 2006
UK
dclocke said: