Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

indigoblu

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 21, 2005
I am new to video work. I just upgraded from an iBook to a new 15" Powerbook. I plan on doing light video work and some TV watching/recording for my own use. I am going to get Final Cut Express. But I am wondering how you get videos clips on the powerbook. I know apple store has some boxes that convert it - averaging about $300. Do I need one of those? Any recommendations? Or are there other options/cables?

I have DirectTV. I'll be transferring videos (from VCR) to digital format. And some clips from DVDs I have - mostly personal material I use from lectures and classes and presentations.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks
BK

Rod Rod

macrumors 68020
Sep 21, 2003
Las Vegas, NV
For $300 (or less) I think you're better off getting a miniDV camcorder that has analog to digital pass-through. I use a JVC GRD70 for that, and when I'm not using it for a-d conversions (for example, taking in VHS tapes for editing and DVD encoding), well it's useful as an iSight camera and a simple handheld camcorder.

If your DirecTV receiver has a FireWire port, you're in luck. You could use your Mac as a DVR. There's a program called VirtualDVHS which you could use to record DirecTV. It's part of the Apple FireWire SDK, which is available from developer.apple.com. You can install just VirtualDVHS (and maybe DVHSCap too if you like) by using Pacifist. After you've recorded your DirecTV shows you can transcode to an editing format (such as DV) and set chapter markers in iMovie, then burn the DVD in iDVD. Otherwise you could transcode the files to elementary streams and build a DVD in DVD Studio Pro. Either way will take about the same amount of effort. The DVD Studio Pro method takes a bit more knowledge but takes much less time (considering you won't have to wait for MPEG2 encoding).

indigoblu