Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mickblue

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 21, 2020
Hi newbie here. Hope this is the correct forum. We've had a new iOS app built and its about to go to Apple for approval/rejection. It has an in-app purchase option. We've used Stripe payments for this feature. But we've been told by a third party that Apple insist on Apple Pay and do not allow any other purchase platform within their apps. Is this true?

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
That would surprise me greatly, since payouts from the App Store and in-app purchases have existed long before Apple Pay.
In app purchases must go through Apple on the front end, but how the money is handled after that I’m pretty sure is entirely up to you.
That said, I haven’t actually tried. I’ve not yet published anything that I’ve charged for anywhere :)

TiggrToo

macrumors 601
Aug 24, 2017
Hi newbie here. Hope this is the correct forum. We've had a new iOS app built and its about to go to Apple for approval/rejection. It has an in-app purchase option. We've used Stripe payments for this feature. But we've been told by a third party that Apple insist on Apple Pay and do not allow any other purchase platform within their apps. Is this true?

For in-app purchases you have to go through Apple.

This precludes you from using Stripe etc. as Apple will take their cut and send you the rest.

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
For in-app purchases you have to go through Apple.

This precludes you from using Stripe etc. as Apple will take their cut and send you the rest.