Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Saturn007

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 18, 2010
I have been using an iPod Touch 6G for several years now. It is my bedside table ebook reader, for the middle of the night, grab 'n' read sessions. I also keep my To Dos and notes on it.

While I have an iPhone SE 2016, without carrier service, which I got NEW at a steal of a price, as a potential IPT replacement, I've never switched over to it.

Why?

Because the iPod Touch is so lightweight, easy to handle, easy to grip, and especially good at night. The iPhone is just enough cumbersome or hard to grip that the IPT wins out. I use the “iPod SE“ (its nickname) for tracking walks, listening to podcasts during exercise sessions, and occasional news views.

Works great for that.

Generally, though, I’m on my iPad Air or MacBook Air for other things.

Do wish that the IPT had better battery life, but it's not bad if you avoid Wi-Fi.

How about you?

What appeals to you about these “Slim Jim“ featherweight, thin devices?

philrock

macrumors 6502
Jul 5, 2015
Ventura, CA
When I was an Android and/or BB user, I always had an IPT with me. It was definitely my go-to for music, pics, and vids. I think the 5th gen was my last as I switched to iPhone full-time in late 2013. Sadly, the screen is too small for these eyes nowadays.
My daughter has a 6th gen and uses the hell out of it. It's perfect for 9yo hands. If they were to release an 8th gen I would buy it for her in a heartbeat.

GMShadow

macrumors 68000
Jun 8, 2021
I use my 7th gen mostly at night for watching commentary videos or listening to ASMR videos before going to bed. I've got iMessage and everything shut off, so it's not really a distraction compared to my phone.

rjalda100

macrumors regular
Oct 13, 2012
Canada