Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VOGUEx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 12, 2007
Quick question, I'm new to macs.. So when you download a program, say Perian or whatever, after it finishes downloading it opens up to let you install, and you install it. On your desktop there's the "Perian" object that looks like what the HD looks like then there is also the .DMG file. Am I suppose to Drag the "perian icon" into my apps folder, and then DELETE the .DMG file? Cause that's what I'm hearing about this "mounting" stuff. Whenever I just delete the .DMG file, and empty my trash, when I go to my Apps folder and click on the "perian icon" it says that it can't be found, and that I can fix the Alias of it ...so I'm kinda confuse..am I suppose to make a new folder in the Apps folder and then drag the "perian icon" AND the .DMG file or what?

swiftaw

macrumors 603
Jan 31, 2005
Omaha, NE, USA
Think of DMG files as a box, which contains the application inside. When you download a dmg, it is then mounted, this is like opening the box. The opened box (mounted dmg) will appear on the sidebar of finder, kind of the same way an external drive would. You should then empty the contents of the box (move the files out of the dmg) into your application folder. You can then unmount/eject the dmg (close the box) and throw it away.

Hope that clears things up a little

boobooq88

macrumors regular
May 12, 2007
If you are dragging the icon that looks like a Hard Drive sorta icon to your aps folder... thats not what you do. for other apps the install is a little different... but to help you out i had to download perian myself as it appears it install differently than normal applications

If you downloaded version 1.0 from here:

1) after it is downloaded it should open up a Finder window (if not double click on that hard drive looking icon on your desktop)
2) double click on the pocket knife logo