Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

one1

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 17, 2007
Chattanooga, TN
Started with a perfectly good working iPhone 6 on IOS 11.3, apple pushed the 11.4 update and I said ok. I tried from the phone and the update failed, connect to iTunes. Connected to iTunes and it said try update and if fails try restore. Tried both, got the same result. White screen at apple logo with progress bar that never makes any progress. Shows none at all. iTunes says Verifying iPhone restore and never gets past that. Stuck at the end of verifying the restore.

Tried DFU, tried cold boot.I've been using iPhone since 2008. I wrote code with the first jailbreak, I've been around. Can't believe DFU didn't fix it..... Making this thread for anyone else that has the issue, because I'm looking for others ideas while I fix it. Software is stuck in verifying.

20180531_223616.jpg

\\EDIT: Notes on the issue. How to resolve.

- Delete software update from iTunes folder.

- Clear cache
  1. Open a Finder window and select “Go to Folder” in the Go menu.
  2. Type in ~/Library/Caches and hit enter to proceed to this folder.
  3. Go into each of the folders and clean out everything.

- reboot Mac

- DFU mode for iPhone

- Recovery mode, restore

- Update iPhone

**Hope this helps someone else :)

Last edited:

iosuser

macrumors 65816
Mar 12, 2012
I was about to let it do its thing, thanks for the reminder to do a backup first.

I’ve been rolling the dice performing the updates without backing up with iTunes first. Luck runs out.

dugbug

macrumors 68000
Aug 23, 2008
Somewhere in Florida