Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iOS 12.4 Battery Life

• Better

Votes: 17 25.8%
  • Same

Votes: 31 47.0%
  • Worse

Votes: 18 27.3%

• Total voters

theapplehead

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 17, 2018
North Carolina
Here we go again. After a little over 24 hours since the release of iOS 12.4, I’m curious to see how everyone’s battery is holding up. Would you say your battery life is better, worse, or the same after updating?

deanzaZZR

macrumors newbie
Jul 13, 2018
South Bay, CA
Here we go again. After a little over 24 hours since the release of iOS 12.4, I’m curious to see how everyone’s battery is holding up. Would you say your battery life is better, worse, or the same after updating?

Much worse. Like night and day worse. This is on a refurbished 7+ that I purchased in January. I'm new to iPhones and battery performance was exceptional until this "update".

Reactions: theapplehead

George Dawes

Suspended
Jul 17, 2014
=VH=
My 8 plus loses 50 % every night , it’s due to photos and background processes

Any way to stop this happening ?

Hal~9000

macrumors 68020
Sep 13, 2014
iOS 12.4 battery life has been great for me on my 7+. Of course I did a clean install and set it up as new with the usual battery saving settings:
  • No background app refresh
  • No push accounts, only manual
  • Location only allowed for maps, apple workouts, and find my iPhone.
My 8 plus loses 50 % every night , it’s due to photos and background processes

Any way to stop this happening ?

Settings -> General -> Background App Refresh -> “Off”.

Reactions: George Dawes

jrdatrackstar1223

macrumors regular
Oct 31, 2017
Brownsburg, IN
iOS 12.4 battery life has been great for me on my 7+. Of course I did a clean install and set it up as new with the usual battery saving settings:
  • No background app refresh
  • No push accounts, only manual