Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

orbitalpunk

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 14, 2006
I would like to learn iOS development. Are there any good online sites that offer a full ciriculum, from introduction to advanced. I have no prior programing knowledge. Any suggestion would be very helpful.

Thanks

Reactions: rhinecharles1

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Would you like iOS programming specifically, or programming generally, but applied to iOS.

I think Swift Playgrounds is quite good for learning. Seems made for kids so slow at times, but very good.

I personally learned with the textbook Objects First with Java, and the Java development environment BlueJ, later transitioning to Intellij. Now that's obviously Java, but knowing general programming will make it so much simpler. Once you know software architecture and general programming, you can easily apply it to new languages. I recently jumped from Scala to Swift back to Java and it all just flows. Adapting takes very little time.

I can recommend the aforementioned book and Swift Playgrounds on iPad. I can recommend just reading Apple's documentation; That'll guide you through it all very well with code samples, guides and more theoretical material all available.
I don't recommend Udemy courses and such. I took a "complete iOS 10 development course" on Udemy once, and it taught bad code habits and not really proper programming, just cobbling together APIs to get a user interface working, but not anything structured that'd be maintainable.

I recommend taking code challenges as you learn and get better. LeetCode is good for this; Supports almost all languages and has many difficulty levels.

iTunes U also has programming courses; Specifically the Standford one is quite good.

In fact, I feel like the free options are basically all better than the paid options strangely

orbitalpunk

macrumors 6502a