Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

eatingwithjin

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2020
vjin lounge
Hi guys soo I'm kinda in dire need for opinions.

I'm currently a first-year accounting student. I'm thinking about getting an iPad Air 3 (2019) for an extra device to accompany my 256GB Macbook Air (2019) and well my old (but still going strong) iPhone 6s. Anyways, I'm thinking of getting the 64 GB one since I'm not sure how many storage I'd use and it's way cheaper and ofc fits my budget. However, my friends told me that I should get the 256 GB instead. I'm not exactly sure I'd use my iPad for installing accounting software but I'd definitely use it to store books n docs, take notes, use zoom, and microsoft office tasks. Planning to do my video editing there as well (not heavy ones though, just the occasional school tasks).

Honestly I want to buy the 256 one but given the fact that I need the iPad before my new semester starts (in Feb), and I'm on a tight budget here, now I'm confused. I'm able to afford the 256 GB one but it comes with the cost of me getting the additional accessories like probably 3 months later (bcs I need to save up :(). Anyway, what do you guys think?

Should I get the 64 GB one (and apple pencil, etc. ) or should I get the 256 GB one (minus the apple pencil, screen protector, case for 3 months), or should I save up first and buy the 256 GB + accessories in August? (The latter kinda scares me bcs I don't think I'd be able to hold my money that long w/out tempted to buy anything). Any kinds of advice would be gladly appreciated.

Thank you :D

Disclaimer: For the video editing part, it's usually less than 10-mins video assignments and I usually delete the videos after I submit them. I kinda want to highlight the 256 gb macbook part as well since I initially thought they'll be enough to support the iPad (but now I legit have no idea)

Last edited:

ericwn