Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

woolypants

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2018
Is it a usable setup to get an iPad Air 5th gen with BT keyboard+mouse, and use it for everyday stuff—but also remote desktop into a Mac for stuff the iPad just doesn't do, such as torrenting, or things that are just better on a desktop, such as working on larger spreadsheets?

Long story:

I work as a journalist and use a MBP for work and leisure.

I've been an immensely happy user of a mid-2015 MacBook Pro for seven years. But alas, the battery has died—and I only just replaced it last year via iFixIt. Each battery is nearly £100 here in the UK so it's expensive if this is going to be a yearly tax (and I worry that the charging circuit might be dead, rather than the battery). I already replaced the battery three times.

My thoughts are that the iPad Air + BT keyboard and mouse will be fine for work and leisure day to day, in terms of using Microsoft Word, attending Teams Meetings, watching YouTube videos, and general browsing. It'd be fully portable too. For more complicated stuff at home, I can remote desktop into the MacBook Pro which I'll keep on a shelf in my office. I just put a 1GB SSD into this, so it's got enough storage moving forward but there's also a NAS in the household.

darngooddesign

macrumors P6
Jul 4, 2007
Atlanta, GA
You shouldn't have to replace your batteries regularly so it sounds like there is a larger issue with your Mac.

Fast internet is a must if you are planning on using Remote desktop a lot.

woolypants

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2018
You shouldn't have to replace your batteries regularly so it sounds like there is a larger issue with your Mac.

Fast internet is a must if you are planning on using Remote desktop a lot.