Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iPad Bro

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 2, 2021
Yeah, so I want to get an iPad mini 6. I was thinking about the 64GB model on Amazon, but I think it wouldn’t be able to handle all of my apps that are on my M2 iPad Pro 256GB. I am mainly speaking about Affinity Photo which I have a ton of open images I work with.

But the 256GB mini is out of my reach right now in price. I can maybe get a Apple Refurbished model for $549 + tax, but that is an avenue I have never tried before.

Also, if I do end up going Apple Refurbished, can I still buy monthly AppleCare+?

Thank you for your help!

Reactions: Starfia

iPad Bro

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 2, 2021
Thanks, BigMcGuire.

Would any of you go for the 64GB iPad mini if I wasn’t going to copy over what’s on my Pro?

StaceyMJ86

macrumors demi-goddess
Sep 22, 2015
Washington, DC
I have both the mini 6 and iPad Pro 12.9 6th generation. I bought both at 256gb and copied everything from my mini to the Pro. I know with the amount of apps and things I do on the iPad, I have to have 256gb and greater. I keep my iPads for 5+ years, so I want to make sure I won’t run out of space.

Jonr515

macrumors 6502
Nov 11, 2017
Midwest!
Thanks, BigMcGuire.

Would any of you go for the 64GB iPad mini if I wasn’t going to copy over what’s on my Pro?
I have a 2TB IPP M1 and a 256 Mini, I don’t know if I’d recommend a 64gb. The huge plus of the mini is portability. If you don’t want to purchase additional iCloud storage carrying a hard drive for the mini effects the portability

HobeSoundDarryl

macrumors G5
OP: I'd ask myself why do I want a mini 6 for Affinity Photo work if I have a M2 iPad Pro now. It appears you have the right tool for that primary job already. So why add another tool to do the same job? That job likely greatly benefits from the:
  • bigger screen, so why cut screen size to try to do the same?