Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Leatherstrip

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 21, 2021
Hey!

I am currently studying concept art and I need a drawing tablet. I tried multiple options, but the iPad is by far the best drawing experience. Most people say, if you want to take it serious on your artworks, you need the iPad Pro. The 4GB RAM and the big laminated screen makes it the perfect choice. Most people suggest the 2nd or 3rd gen. Sadly I am on a very tight budget right now and my best bet would be a used 1st gen for around 300$ if I get a lucky deal.

I saw the newest Standard iPad and while I think it is OK for the job, the small screen of 10.2" and the loss of 1GB RAM in comparison to the Pro seems not optimal. Also the price in my country at Amazon is still at 360$. It seems to me that the Pro 1. Gen would be the better bang for the buck deal.

But I heard things that are holding me back:
- Apparently no Apple Support anymore? What does this mean? No security updates?
- iPads tend to get slower over time. In generel; what lifespan does those devices have? How long can I use it if I buy one now?

If I spend 300$ on this it would be great if it still lasts a few years. I know the 1st Gen only got the Pencil v1, but honestly I don't care if it does the job as great as the iPad I tried.

Thank you!!!

rui no onna

Contributor
Oct 25, 2013
There are rumors that the 1st gen Pros won't get iOS 15. It'll probably still get some security updates for really bad vulnerabilities, though. My devices with iOS 12 have still gotten firmware updates recently.

For me, the main issue when Apple drops iOS support is that some new apps are not available for the older iOS versions. Most existing apps will still work fine, though.

On the upside, no more iOS-related slowdowns when you're no longer receiving iOS updates.

ericwn

macrumors G4
Apr 24, 2016