Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jjk454ss

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jul 10, 2008
With the new Lockscreen doing away with the slider, I always want to slide to the left instead of to the right. It seems like it would make more sense since your basically sliding the screen away to access the next page. Am I the only one?:D

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
With the new Lockscreen doing away with the slider, I always want to slide to the left instead of to the right. It seems like it would make more sense since your basically sliding the screen away to access the next page. Am I the only one?:D

It does in some countries I suppose like turning a page of a book but what if you live somewhere where it's the opposite way around? Lol

WordMasterRice

macrumors 6502a
Aug 3, 2010
Upstate NY
I'm actually really surprised at this. I've been using iPhones for 5 years and iPads since they first came out and with iOS 7 I still try swiping the wrong way the first few times. It makes more sense to me to swipe right to left since you are actually sliding the screen away.

Mlrollin91

macrumors G5
Nov 20, 2008
I'm actually really surprised at this. I've been using iPhones for 5 years and iPads since they first came out and with iOS 7 I still try swiping the wrong way the first few times. It makes more sense to me to swipe right to left since you are actually sliding the screen away.

I completely agree. I keep telling myself to swipe in the opposite direction, and after 5 years of iOS devices you think it would just be already programed, but nonetheless, I keep sliding the wrong way!

HitchHykr

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2007
Virginia
And there isn't much of an indicator about which way to slide to unlock, maybe there should be a biggish arrow pointing to the right?

WordMasterRice

macrumors 6502a
Aug 3, 2010
Upstate NY