Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JippaLippa

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 14, 2013
Hello, everyone

I'm a very loyal Apple user, therefore there's no phone for me other than the iPhone, and I recently upgraded from an Iphone XR to a 13 and I love it.
Everything about the phone is amazing, especially the screen (once again, coming from the very cheaply made XR).
There's one thing that left me quite perplexed though, and it's the video recording quality.

I'm an animator and I have a decent background in camera tech and video formats and I'm well aware of the physical limitations a small smartphone sensor has, however despite not expecting any Hollywood quality I was extremely disappointed with the video quality of the iPhone, specifically with the strong grain that's present even in very sunny and adequately lit environments.
I cannot seem to be able to get any clip that's not plagued by a very noticeable noise that makes 4K footage looks sub-1080p (I triple checked it's actually recording in 4K); I have been shooting lots of clips in the last week and I wasn't able to get a single usable one without the garbled mess in the shadows.
To be fair it doesn't look noticeably better than my previous XR (except for the HDR colours in Dolby Vision perhaps)
The situation is bad outside, however if you shoot any sort of video in an interior, no matter how well lit it is, is a complete mess of macroblocking and noise.
I contemplated the purchase of an iPhone Pro, for the prores recording, which would be undeniably better, but I'm not sure how much of an improvement it would be as it seems the problem is just because of the sensors themselves.
I even tried shooting in S-Log V2 with the extreme quality preset in the FilmicPro app, but it's still so noisy.