Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Pokolasko

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 9, 2021
Hello

I'm a photographer, so I understand technical things about sensor size, depth of field at different apertures, etc.

Problem is most likely the decentered lens on the main camera 24mm. This is also confirmed by the fact that when I switch to 28/35mm mode, the problem disappears, it crop unsharp part. One of the corners is blurry and it seems to me that the left side of the photos is too.

I want to ask if you met this on your iPhone 15 pro/max as well? I'm not sure if it's worth solving it and playing the lottery for the ideal lens if my iPhone happens to be replaced.

Blurry is photo number 3. It is best seen on FA letters.

The last 2 photos are the left and right parts

Attachments

• IMG_6324.jpg
    IMG_6324.jpg
    227.8 KB · Views: 256
  • IMG_6323.jpg
    IMG_6323.jpg
    278.9 KB · Views: 183
  • IMG_6322.jpg
    IMG_6322.jpg
    156.4 KB · Views: 180
  • IMG_6325.jpg
    IMG_6325.jpg
    299.7 KB · Views: 182
  • IMG_6344.jpg
    IMG_6344.jpg
    526.7 KB · Views: 171
  • IMG_6339.jpg
    IMG_6339.jpg
    317.3 KB · Views: 190

schnitzel-pretzel

macrumors regular
Nov 28, 2023
Kentucky
I'm confused. You're saying that entire blurry corner is due to (in your opinion) a physical defect leading to the lens being off-center? Which means that all of your 1x photos will have a blurry corner like that?

Of course I'd replace the phone if I thought that. It is not acceptable for such a high end phone (or even a low end phone tbh) where the camera upgrades are one of the main selling points

Pokolasko

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 9, 2021
I'm confused. You're saying that entire blurry corner is due to (in your opinion) a physical defect leading to the lens being off-center? Which means that all of your 1x photos will have a blurry corner like that?