Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TVreporter

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 11, 2012
Near Toronto
I am somewhat disappointed with the quality of the photos with my new iPhone 8 plus... a lot of photos appear pixelated. And if photos are 12MB why aren't they showing up as that size?

Zooming in to 100% using Photos on my iMac and most of them are very blotchy/blurry.

Anyone else having these problems with their phone's camera?

I came from a 5S and doing photo shoot comparisons there's little improvement. Could there be an issue with my phone or software related? I'm a hobby photographer so I know a lot about lighting, etc.

I upgraded my imac 2011 with High Sierra would that make a difference? I've stored photos iCloud and the quality is the same.

Just a major letdown with this phone...

naturalstar

macrumors demi-goddess
Mar 9, 2012
Not a professional photographer or anything, but I do like taking pictures.

I’ve taken some amazing shots with the 8 Plus, but I have also taken shots that were a disappointment, especially when there is movement in low light. A good portion of pictures I have taken - all related to the subject(s) moving have come out blurry/noisy. It’s more pronounced in lower light.

This has surprised me because my 6 Plus was very good about stabilizing movement even if the pic came out slightly noisy due to low light conditions. Now I’m wondering if there may be something wrong with the OIS. I will be really disappointed if this is actually how it works now. I like capturing people at random moments. Guess I’ll be taking mine in to get checked out just to be sure.

TVreporter

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 11, 2012
Near Toronto
Time for you to ditch that outdated 8 and get an X!

OT:
You sound like you know your stuff, take it to the Genius bar and they might swap it out.