Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Spudlicious

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 21, 2015
Bedfordshire, England
This must have come up before here but I can't find it so please don't anybody jump down my throat.

Often, too often, I tap to open a non-native app on my XS and it doesn't open. I just see a flash of it firing up and then it's gone. This has happened with my banking app, the Amazon app, my insect identifier app, with lots of apps. I shut the phone down and restart, and always that app will then open OK. Usually there are no other apps running when a failure to open occurs, there are no error messages or indications of what's gone wrong.

I'm fairly new to iPhone, only had one just over a year. Other family members who've had a string of iPhones say, 'Yeah, iPhones are like that.' So what's happening? It's not helpful to say I've never experienced this issue with iPads, nor with a half-dozen Android phones, I just throw that in.

iPhone completely suits me and I'm not thinking of returning to Android, but this is so annoying. Any ideas, comments, suggestions?

svanstrom

macrumors 6502a
Feb 8, 2002
??
This must have come up before here but I can't find it so please don't anybody jump down my throat.

Often, too often, I tap to open a non-native app on my XS and it doesn't open. I just see a flash of it firing up and then it's gone. This has happened with my banking app, the Amazon app, my insect identifier app, with lots of apps. I shut the phone down and restart, and always that app will then open OK. Usually there are no other apps running when a failure to open occurs, there are no error messages or indications of what's gone wrong.