Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Woolybully

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 28, 2021
So I’m pretty sure my iPhone is jailbroken but I have no idea how to confirm.

I’m a total novice when it comes to software but I for sure know something’s up because when I connected to iTunes on a PC my phone uploaded some sort of malware package immediately. I’ve looked for the Cydia app and don’t see it on my phone which seems to be the easiest sign. I’ve looked through the analytics and see that some of the apps like the “App Store” are bundled together which I assume is a clue. Also I’m fairly sure my web browsing has been tunneled. And after scouring through my settings there’s this weired little twitch that occurs when I go under the “health” subsection.

I restored my phone but unfortunately logged into my iCloud account and went down the rabbit hole again. So I assume that my current appleid is ruined.

Would I be able to restore and get rid of this considering I’m running 15 already?

Also is there any hope of actually finding the source since I’m now hooked on solving this?

Reactions: MeowOG

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
So I’m pretty sure my iPhone is jailbroken but I have no idea how to confirm.

I’m a total novice when it comes to software but I for sure know something’s up because when I connected to iTunes on a PC my phone uploaded some sort of malware package immediately. I’ve looked for the Cydia app and don’t see it on my phone which seems to be the easiest sign. I’ve looked through the analytics and see that some of the apps like the “App Store” are bundled together which I assume is a clue. Also I’m fairly sure my web browsing has been tunneled. And after scouring through my settings there’s this weired little twitch that occurs when I go under the “health” subsection.