Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Arcade24

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020
Anybody having a problem with this or have a solution? Randomly at least once a day my screen dims down to about 25%, I don’t know why or how it happens it just does, I have every automatic dimming option disabled but it still happens. Is this an iOS issue? I’m new to iPhone and finding this kind of frustrating.

Reactions: remington79

oVerboost

macrumors 68000
Sep 17, 2013
United Kingdom
What’s the reason for turning automatic brightness off? Android habit? If so you don’t need to...

It shouldn’t however change the brightness if it’s turned off. Have you tried a reset?

Reactions: NickName99

rui no onna

Contributor
Oct 25, 2013
Anybody having a problem with this or have a solution? Randomly at least once a day my screen dims down to about 25%, I don’t know why or how it happens it just does, I have every automatic dimming option disabled but it still happens. Is this an iOS issue? I’m new to iPhone and finding this kind of frustrating.
iOS device display also dims itself before it auto-locks.

You can change the length of time before it dims in:

Settings > Display & Brightness > Auto-Lock

The longer the timer, the longer it will take before the display dims. Trade-off is higher power consumption and less security if you happen to leave your device unlocked on a table or something.

Reactions: NickName99

Arcade24

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020
It wasn’t a heating issue, or battery getting low, or anything like that it was completely random. Thanks for trying to help everyone.

I spoke with Apple and they ran a diagnostics test and everything was fine. There is also a setting in accessibility > display & text size that also has auto brightness, and that was enabled. So hopefully it was that which was causing it. If not then I will just have to reopen the case.