Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KellMOO

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 9, 2023
Are IPSW files that are signed by Apple, once downloaded to your personal computer...do they remain signed forever?

I was under the impression that a signed IPSW file, means the digital signature is attached to each IPSW file and not somehow associated to what the Apple Server says at that moment in time.

Meaning once Apple stops signing the file officially from their website, will my previously downloaded IPSW signed file remain signed for me and still be usable for me using Recovery Mode down the road if needed.

I'm new to the Apple Community having bought my first iPhone and was looking for clarification on this question. Should I bother downloading signed IPSW files when they are posted and archive them or is it a waste of time because the signing is all controlled by Apple Servers?

I'd appreciate some insight on this topic.

Thank you!

Fat_Guy

macrumors 65816
Feb 10, 2021
I assume you want to roll back to a previous version of iOS.

If Blackberry is anything to go by many have tried and none succeeded in messing around a signed OS. Would be nice if they could.

I believe these signed files serve a security purpose so only unsigned files could be used to roll back for instance.

BTW, you are in the wrong place for this question. Apple is as proprietary as Blackberry and don’t take kindly to folk messing around with iOS….

Fat_Guy

macrumors 65816
Feb 10, 2021
I reread your question. I suppose a signed IPSW should work as long as no changes were made to the phone. Mess with the man and all bets are off….

Also - I’m not a tech expert. 🤣

Nermal

Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
The phone-specific signature required to install the OS is not actually part of the IPSW but is rather downloaded "on demand". Your IPSW doesn't remain signed, because it was never fully signed in the first place.