Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

remisbestgirl

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 20, 2019
Canada
I am new to Ipads! I am a graduate student and need to read a lot of papers. My main motivation thus for getting an ipad is to use it for reading pdfs and using the pencil to annotate these (plus taking down some notes). I don't have a very big budget and don't really intend to use the Ipad for entertainment, thus thought the 9.7 would be perfect.

However MacRumours says it's currently a bad idea to buy one as it's the end of it's cycle (but there have been no rumours about whether a new version will be out). Should I buy one now or wait?

Also from yall's experience, should I get the 32gb and use cloud or get the 128 gb?

If you have any experiences about using the pencil with it too, please let me know!

ACG12

macrumors 6502a
Jun 9, 2015
Get the mini 5. It’s cheaper than the 128gb model 9.7” and is a far better device.

I bought a 9.7” back in November and returned it because of the display and only 2gb of RAM.

remisbestgirl

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 20, 2019
Canada
Get the mini 5. It’s cheaper than the 128gb model 9.7” and is a far better device.
I am concerned that the screen is too small for comfortable writing. The 9.7 seemed like it would be a good size for reading pdfs comfortably and writing.

ACG12

macrumors 6502a
Jun 9, 2015
I am concerned that the screen is too small for comfortable writing. The 9.7 seemed like it would be a good size for reading pdfs comfortably and writing.

If you can find one on clearance, I would recommend a 10.5” Pro. It will be a far better experience than the 9.7” as it has 4gb of RAM.

Reactions: arefbe

Shirasaki

macrumors P6
May 16, 2015