Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AronDraws

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 6, 2014
Burbank, CA
Hi! I got my airpods last week and I've been enjoying them and I had them out of my ears when a Youtube ad ended and the "up next" video played and the sound was waayyyyyy to loud. I scrambled to turn the volume down but Im worried about my airpods and Im worried the sound could be blown out now or in the future if this happens again. I tried playing some different types of music and didnt notice any distortion so I think Im safe but I figured I'd ask since I'm new to owning these little headphones :D

Thank you!

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Hi! I got my airpods last week and I've been enjoying them and I had them out of my ears when a Youtube ad ended and the "up next" video played and the sound was waayyyyyy to loud. I scrambled to turn the volume down but Im worried about my airpods and Im worried the sound could be blown out now or in the future if this happens again. I tried playing some different types of music and didnt notice any distortion so I think Im safe but I figured I'd ask since I'm new to owning these little headphones :D

In theory, yes. In practice, no. They're made to be able to deal with way louder signals than your iPhone or Mac outputs even if turned all the way up. The "Find My AirPods" function can play tones way louder than the max volume normally allowed.

Reactions: skadd and AronDraws

AronDraws

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 6, 2014
Burbank, CA
In theory, yes. In practice, no. They're made to be able to deal with way louder signals than your iPhone or Mac outputs even if turned all the way up. The "Find My AirPods" function can play tones way louder than the max volume normally allowed.