Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

darkdream

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 25, 2009
Within the past month I made a switch to macs and bought a 13 inch mbp and a 15 inch 2.66 ghz mbp and wondering if it is worth getting a macbook air. What would my benefits be? Money is not a factor, but I do not like to waste money on something that is a rip off or useless. I am just a college student, but I use my 15 inch and going to use my alien ware m17x as a desktop replacement.

bcburrows

macrumors 6502
Mar 25, 2009
Bristol
Within the past month I made a switch to macs and bought a 13 inch mbp and a 15 inch 2.66 ghz mbp and wondering if it is worth getting a macbook air. What would my benefits be? Money is not a factor, but I do not like to waste money on something that is a rip off or useless. I am just a college student, but I use my 15 inch and going to use my alien ware m17x as a desktop replacement.

OK I can appreciate money is no issue for some, but 4 laptops, whats the purpose, especially as you are a student?

13mbp
15mbp
mba
mx17a

surely desktop and laptop or mbp and mba at a push but 4???

alphaod

macrumors Core
Feb 9, 2008
NYC
You should get rid of the 13" MacBook and then the MacBook Air would have a spot.

Or get a desktop.

Hands Sandon

macrumors 6502
Aug 3, 2008
Unless you think that having a light and thin Air would benefit you, you'd obviously just be wasting money, given what you've already got. If it is possible that the Air can handle anything that you don't use your pc for, then you might want to replace either or both of the 13" or 15" MacBooks with it. Given that money isn't a barrier, why not get an Air and return it if you find it's not suitable for you? You can't beat having it in your hands at home to know whether you want it.

pvmacguy

macrumors 65816
Sep 2, 2009
Jax