Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mactobe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 7, 2005
Howdy all,

I have 3 dead X86 Pcs littering my study and am typing this on a Sony Vaio laptop that is on the way out. My needs are

C++ compiler and a simple IDE such as Bloodshed etc
Compatibilty with a Speedtouch USB DSL modem.
Microsoft Office (very important, at least Excel and ideally Access).
Does Oracle 8i run on the Mac?
Any decent flightsims? (I am studying for my PPL and can justify it
)

My ipod is the first piece of apple hardware I have used since the 80s. I really like the look of the 20in iMac but hope it doesn't scratch as easily as my beloved iPod, if you look at the damned thing too hard it gets a new scratch. However the design does offer a high WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor).

katie ta achoo

Blogger emeritus
May 2, 2005
A mac is a good way to go.
If you still need the windows part, you could just run virtual PC.

The iMac doesn't scratch as easily if memory serves me right. (I totally don't go to the apple store and mess with the computers and then leave...) And in what situations would it be open to scratchings? you aren't carrying it everywhere like your iPod, and it is sitting on a desk up and away from everything.

Everyone I know (or heard of) switching from windows to mac LOOOOVES the mac. I hope you eventually get yours and will subsequently enjoy it!

Chaszmyr

macrumors 601
Aug 9, 2002
I don't know what Microsoft Access is, and therefore don't think it's available on Mac, but for all of your other needs you should be good to go.

Sutekidane

macrumors 6502a
Jan 26, 2005
No, the imac g5 doesn't get scratched up through normal use, and cleaning. I highly recommend the newer models, they seem really good. As for everything else, I dunno.

xwk88

macrumors regular
May 3, 2005
access