Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hashim9372

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 9, 2021
Hi there, apologies if this post is in the wrong forum - I'm new here.

I've recently downloaded Cryptomator (and in the past, Tresorit) both of which require (or in the very least recommend) macFUSE to be downloaded in order for files from different operating systems to be read on Mac.

I'm not too tech savvy, so I apologise if that explanation is wrong - but before I go about using Cryptomator to encrypt my OneDrive, I just wanted to ask if its a safe application to use? Of course, now that its closed source I can't expect you to make any promises, but has there been a history of the software collecting sensitive data, acting as malware and so on, especially in your own personal usage? Or has it always been trustworthy?

Thanks.

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Depends on the definition of safe.

macFUSE itself is still open source, and the principle behind FUSE is to have file system support in user space which improves security in the sense that the file system support won’t have kernel access. A file system support package would still be able to snoop on the files it is responsible for, but it wouldn’t be able to snoop on files from other file systems.
macFUSE itself is also a kernel extension and while I trust macFUSE itself, a kernel extension will increase the attack surface and the system crash likelihood - that’s basically inevitable. Anything that runs in kernel space can bring down the whole system if it’s buggy or potentially allow arbitrary code execution with kernel privileges if exploitable.