Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TechandFaang

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 3, 2021
renderTimingPixel.png
Hi, fellow Apple Users

So im new here and I have been searching for answer for this everywhere but can't find it so have ended up here, looking to get some help

So im using a 2018 13” i5 8gb MacBook Pro, with plenty of free space on the hard drive

So I've been using it for 2 years with no problem, but have now shifted over from iMovie to FCP
Whenever I open up FCP it gets hot, can’t really use the keyboard or put it on my lap it’s that hot
I’m using macs fan control and it reads temps of about 80-90 occasionally going above 90 and hitting 100

Is it safe for me to use it like this, because I need to spend about 5/6 hours a day editing and I was thinking of getting an external display for 4K but it will probably heat it more, maybe I’ll have to settle with FHD display instead
Do you think it’s safe for it to stay like this and could I get a 4k 27" display or will it be pushing it?

Toutou

macrumors 65816
Jan 6, 2015
Prague, Czech Republic
This is what MacBooks do. They let the CPU run hot all the time, only ramping up the fan slowly. Then, if the temperature rises even more, into the high 90s, the CPU throttles and slows down a bit, so it only generates as much heat as it can dissipate.
So you don't have to worry about the temps getting even higher, but you DO have to worry about them staying that high for prolonged periods of time.