Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kht410

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 4, 2016
Steve Jobs once said that touch screens don’t want to be vertical. It makes great demo, but after awhile of interacting with the screen, your arm wants to fall off. Touch surface needs to be horizontal.
I know he was just referring to a touch screen mac, but ergonomically it still applies to iPads with keyboards.

Ironically, post-Steve Jobs era in 2015, Apple released the first Smart Keyboard with the first gen iPad Pro 12.9". When the iPad is propped up with the Smart Keyboard, the only way of interacting with it was with touch and touch only. Since then I've always wondered about the user experience with this keyboard. I've been using a Smart Keyboard with my iPad since 2015 and yet I still have mixed feelings about it.

Of course now we have a mouse/trackpad support with iPadOS and a Magic Keyboard with a built in trackpad. But if you just get a Smart Keyboard Folio without any external mouse/trackpad, you’re back to that touch-only navigation method.

Was Steve Jobs right? Is the Smart Keyboard Folio just a poorly design iPad keyboard?

Last edited:

sorgo †

Cancelled
Feb 16, 2016
For the money I’d say yes, the Logitech Combo Touch with trackpad, backlit keyboard, and myriad incline angles is a far better option (speaking with some experience—I’ve had the Smart Keyboard Folio, Magic Keyboard, and now the Combo Touch). Also seems to be one of the only—if not the only—third-party options somewhat-officially sanctioned by Apple.

Fravin

macrumors 6502a
Mar 8, 2017
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Was Steve Jobs right? Is the Smart Keyboard Folio just a poorly design iPad keyboard?

Do you remember the keyboard with a stand that was launched with iPad 1st gen?

1649888473589.jpeg

1649888624763.jpeg