Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pranam

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 4, 2021
I'm a college student in Australia (Grade 12), I have been thinking of buying an Ipad to pair with my m1 mba. I was originally going to buy an Ipad Air 4 with an Apple pencil g2 with 64Gb and wifi. But for roughly the same price, I could get an Ipad Mini 6 with 256GB storage, cellular and a pencil g2. But I want to know if the smaller 8.3-inch display compared to the 10.9 or the air is large enough for taking notes and just general studying. I plan to write essays and do the heavy stuff on my MacBook, but for one the go note-taking at home or studying on the bus from volleyball practise, etc. Is it a better route to go with the mini or should I get the larger screen on the AIR?

MhaelK

macrumors regular
Jan 21, 2015
Like everything else, it really depends on your own preference for the screen size. However, the mini is very popular for note-taking in class and studying on the go due its small and portable size - some might say that this is exactly where the mini excels, what it is made for.

It would make an awesome combi together with the MBA. Since, you still plan on using your MacBook you might even consider the base 64gb model. If it would be enough on the Air, there is no reason it shouldnt be enough on the mini. And you would avoid the Apple-tax on the extra storage.

slplss

macrumors 6502a
Nov 2, 2011
EU