Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SparkFlash

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 15, 2013
Michigan
I have been making web sites for about 16 years and have seen the web design need grow dramatically (back in early 2000), and recently nose dive. In our current age of the template selling sites(themeforest, etc), cheap template providing monthly sites (Wix, squarespace, etc), and the cheap monthly offering of things like Photoshop that used to be really expensive, you have to ask yourself... Is the small web design firm client base dying?

Maybe just the Mom and Pops? I know the large corporations, and such are still using high end web design firms but now a days anyone knows a 16 year old with Photoshop and some free time. Its too easy to build your own site too. As you see new sites pop up everything is starting to look the same with these templates, but no one really cares. Heck, the large majority of small web design "firms" popping up are using templates themselves. How ironic to have a web designer not design their own site... (I am guilty of this for clients too due to them knowing about cheap templates and wanting them as a base to save $)

What are you all seeing? Am I just crazy? I feel like maybe the developers are more in demand now.

grahamperrin

macrumors 601
Jun 8, 2007
… everything is starting to look the same with these templates, but no one really cares …

You're not alone, I care about the sameness.

With or without templates: the most recent fad of sameness seems to revolve around annoyingly large images and a necessity to scroll much more than in the past.

A 2011 capture of an Apple page: http://web.archive.org/web/20110307...le.com/uk/iphone/business/profiles/rehabcare/ – with my browser full screen, I can read its content in less than two pages.

The same page in 2015, five pages: http://web.archive.org/web/20151123...le.com/uk/iphone/business/profiles/rehabcare/